Posted by on Nov 2, 2009 in Sport | 0 comments

So the Springbok squad was announced shortly after the Absa Currie Cup Final which the Bulls took. I enjoyed the final and thought that the Cheateehs should probably have been rewarded a bit more for their efforts, but a think a spot in the final was just reward for their form after losing the first four games of the season.

Something that I found amazing about the Final weekend, was that in the U21 game, the Cheetahs received four (4) yellow cards, and a red card! That is unbelievable! It was poorly ill-discipline that cost them the game as they were never able to take the game to the U21 Bulls as they often had two players off at a time.

Back to the Boks. There are one or two surprises in the squad, but I think some new blood has been rewarded for their efforts this season. So here is the squad:

Forwards (20)

John Smit – Sharks, Captain (90)
Victor Matfield – Vodacom Blue Bulls, Vice-Captain (89)
Andries Bekker – Vodacom Western Province (18)
Bakkies Botha – Vodacom Blue Bulls (63)
Heinrich Brüssow – Vodacom Cheetahs (10)
Schalk Burger – Vodacom Western Province (53)
Bismarck du Plessis – Natal Sharks (30)
Jannie du Plessis – Natal Sharks (12)
+ Alistair Hargreaves – Natal Sharks (-)
+ Ashley Johnson – Vodacom Cheetahs (-)
Ryan Kankowski – Natal Sharks (10)
+ Bandise Maku – Vodacom Blue Bulls (-)
Tendai Mtawarira – Natal Sharks (19)
+ Dewald Potgieter – Vodacom Blue Bulls (-)
Chiliboy Ralepelle – Vodacom Blue Bulls (8)
+ Davon Raubenheimer – GWK Griquas (-)
Danie Rossouw – Vodacom Blue Bulls (43)
Pierre Spies – Vodacom Blue Bulls (28)
Gurthro Steenkamp – Vodacom Blue Bulls (22)
* Heinke van der Merwe – Xerox Lions (1)

Backs (17)

+Heini Adams – Vodacom Blue Bulls (-)
* Meyer Bosman – Vodacom Cheetahs (3)
+ Juan de Jongh – Vodacom Western Province (-)
Fourie du Preez – Vodacom Blue Bulls (52)
Jaque Fourie – Xerox Lions (51)
Bryan Habana – Vodacom Blue Bulls (54)
+ Francois Hougaard – Vodacom Blue Bulls (-)
Adi Jacobs – Natal Sharks (28)
* Zane Kirchner – Vodacom Blue Bulls (1)
Odwa Ndungane – Natal Sharks (6)
* Jongi Nokwe – Vodacom Cheetahs (4)
Wynand Olivier – Vodacom Blue Bulls (24)
Ruan Pienaar – Natal Sharks (35)
JP Pietersen – Natal Sharks (30)
* Earl Rose – Xerox Lions (-)
Morne Steyn – Vodacom Blue Bulls (9)
+ Riaan Viljoen – GWK Griquas (-)

+ Denotes new cap
* Denotes recalled to squad

I am really pleased to see Juan de Jongh has been included in the squad. He had an amazing season for WP this year and I hope he gets at least one chance to wear the Green and Gold while on tour.

Related Posts: